Overnight Oats – Some recipes for you to enjoy.

So for the past two months, I’ve been on a 2,000 calorie diet. Watching your calories forces you to watch which foods you eat, and how much of them. Not to say I don’t eat crap food now and then… I had a peanut butter chocolate egg today for a whopping 180 calories o.O good grief.

But I discovered Quaker’s overnight oats, and I figured I would share some of my favorite recipes that I’ve used and some that I’ve concocted for anyone wanting to try them.

So the overnight oats are intended to be a breakfast, but I actually use mine for lunch. They’re good either way, but I prefer a warm breakfast.

So here are a couple of my favorites that you could give a try to help you have a healthier breakfast, lunch or even dinner. You can find the original recipes by googling Quaker overnight oats. I’ve used most of them and I love most of them, but these few I tweaked to my own personal taste and found them to be exceptional. They’ve become my favorites until mango comes back in season and I can use that.

Each of these can be made without yogurt as well. And dairy milk can be substituted for non dairy. I haven’t tried them with an almond milk yet but hey it’s worth trying!

Banana Blueberry 

  1. 1/2 cup oats
  2. 1/2 cup milk
  3. 1/2 cup plain or vanilla yogurt
  4. 1 tbsp honey
  5. 1 banana
  6. 1/4 cup fresh blueberries
  7. 1 tbsp cacao chips (try to avoid milk chocolate chips)

Chocolate Cherry

  1. 1/2 cup oats
  2. 1/2 cup milk
  3. 1/2 cup plain or vanilla yogurt
  4. 1 tbsp honey
  5. 1/2 cup to 1 cup of pitted dark cherries (I love using frozen cherries, personally)
  6. 1 tbsp of cacao chips
  7. 1/2 tbsp flax seeds

Mixed Berry

  1. 1/2 cup oats
  2. 1/2 cup milk
  3. 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt
  4. 1 cup mixed blackberries, raspberries and blueberries (I prefer frozen for this one as well. The juices mix in when the fruits thaw in the fridge)

Chocolate Pomegranate 

  1. 1/2 cup oats
  2. 1/2 cup milk
  3. 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt
  4. 1/2 cup pomegranate seeds
  5. 1 tbsp cacao chips

Honey Apple Cinnamon

  1. 1/2 cup oats
  2. 1/2 cup milk
  3. 1/2 cup plain or vanilla yogurt
  4. 1 tbsp honey
  5. 1/2 to 1 whole small or medium sized honey crisp apple, chopped up into small pieces.
  6. 1/4 tsp or less of cinnamon. I don’t like to over do it on the cinnamon, but feel free to add more if you’re a cinnamon lover.

They’re so simple to put together and take only a couple minutes. First combine the oats and the milk. The oats absorb the milk over the next few hours. Put the yogurt over the oats and milk, then the rest in any order on top of the yogurt. I like to put the honey on top of the oats under the yogurt, but it’s not necessary. Let it sit in the fridge for a few hours or overnight and enjoy it for breakfast or for lunch.

This isn’t a new idea. Quaker has obviously been on top of it for a while now but I thought I would share the idea because it really is a nice addition to the day. For a while it wasn’t very filling because I was so used to eating huge lunches… but I’m reaching the point where it’s really quite enough.

I’ve lost a pound and a half in 2 months from just watching my calories and what I eat. No exercise. I keep meaning to exercise but I’m so busy most of the time I really just don’t feel like it. I try to keep on the little things like walking up and down the stairs in the parking garage instead of taking the elevator or standing all day while I’m at work instead of sitting down as often as I was. I’ve also cut out soda and other sugary beverages. I still enjoy a glass of orange juice, POM, and occasionally I’ll drink something fizzy but now I predominantly drink water.

THE POINT IS…

Minor changes can make a big and positive difference!

Leave a Reply

